“Reminder: talk about your blessings more…”

This comes from a tweet I saw at 10pm the other night, scrolling through as I took my makeup off and my contact lenses out, and it just struck a chord with me…

“Reminder: talk about your blessings more than you talk about your problems”.ย 

I never really talk about this kind of stuff that much, but I’ve had some pretty serious anxiety problems since moving to the USA, some of which I think is partially to do with my mindset of always seeing the negative. It’s something that is difficult to snap out of overnight, but I see someone once every two-to-three weeks for it, and the other day we were talking about how we should really try to focus on the good stuff that happens. I make the effort to think about, or even write down, the good bits of the day as I crawl into bed at night, and it genuinely makes the world of difference. As cheesy as it sounds, I can kind of go to sleep happy.

So, here’s today’s list:

  1. Quartet coaching rocked. My teacher was super complimentary about my playing.
  2. I had a really good meeting with my advisor about my thesis and potential Ph.D applications.
  3. My friend swiped me into Frank Dining Hall so I didn’t have to fork out $10.50 for food.
  4. Me and my friends hadย the most hilarious dinner featuring laughter a bit too loud for the dining hall and the most ridiculous theories known to man.

Sure, there are some days where I can literally only think of one thing, and that’s fine, but I really try to push myself to think of at least three each day and I really encourage others to try and do the same. This is inย noย way a preach-y post, but more something I wanted to share as it helps me a lot.

One thought on ““Reminder: talk about your blessings more…”

Leave a Reply

