Yoga, from my room…

images-2
Image from bubalu.co.uk

I get it, Christmas – well December in general – is hardly the best time to be writing fitness or exercise based posts. But I’ve been thinking about this one for a while, and it’s official: I’m a yoga convert!ย 

I feel like this whole obsession started about six or eight months ago, a YouTuber (I can’t remember who) mentioned Yoga With Adriene‘s videos and I went to have a little nose around. There was clearly no turning back for me, though. I started with her 20 minute video for yoga beginners (still a firm favorite of mine)ย and was bitten by the bug.ย I’ve completed the 30 day yoga challenge and love returning to it: I’m unbelievably excited for the 2016 version. The best part, though? I can do it all from my bedroom..!

tumblr_nwkpi1u4BX1qzgq67o1_500.jpg
Image from tumblr.com

Favorite videos include: Gentle yoga, Bedtime yoga, ‘Happy birthday’ yogaย (I actually did do this on my birthday, it was great!), Morning yoga, Back pain yoga and Ill yoga.

I’m always on the lookout for new yoga videos, so if anyone has any good suggestions, hit me up with them!

I also follow a few yoga accounts onย my Instagram. Some favorites include ‘yogainspiration’, ‘aloyoga’ and ‘alliemichellel’.

yoga
Image from capwellnesscenter.com

But why yoga? For me, yoga is a chance to relax and reflect. I can leave my worries off the mat, even if it’s just for 20 minutes. It’s a chance to have a bit of me time. Obviously, there are other health benefits – some yoga sequences can leave you sweating, many help to tone muscles, but the practice focuses on using strength, flexibility and breathing to boost both physical and mental wellbeing.

Meditating by the sea
Image from http://www.yogatraveljobs.com

My top tip? Don’t worry about being flexible – holy moly, you should have all seen my first ever downward dog!

One thought on “Yoga, from my room…

Leave a Reply

