My Favorite Breakfast.

As I sat down for breakfast at my hotel in California this morning, I realized (to my utter horror) that my gluten allergy meant that I couldn’t eat any of what they were offering. I concluded that I’d have to have a cereal bar when me and my friend got back to our room (I have since been out to buy a box of Cheerios..). For someone who loves breakfast, I was pretty distraught…

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. I wake up thinking about it, I think about how good it was at lunchtime and when I go to bed, I’m thinking about tomorrow’s breakfast. Sometimes I like to be ‘inventive’, sometimes if I’m in a huge, huge rush, I’ll make toast. But my go-to and favorite breakfast has to be porridge, or oatmeal I think the Americans say.

All my friends tease me, “It’s a old lady’s breakfast, Kathryn”, but I find that this really fills me up. I make my porridge with almond milk and water mixed together, in a saucepan on my stove. If I need to be quick about it, it can be done in 5 minutes. When I have time, I’ll let the oats really soak up the liquid for the better part of 20 minutes.

Topping wise? My absolute favorite is raspberries with a spoonful of peanut butter on the side. When I get the ratio absolutely perfect, you can bet that there’s a snapchat going to all of my friends!

P.s. keep up with my California travels on my Instagram: @kathrynfirth. I’ll be writing a series of blog posts when I return to the east coast!

Leave a Reply

