Creating a work wardrobe – new purchases from H&M.

There are multiple things I should preface this post with. Firstly, I run a capsule wardrobe so I’m pretty picky about what I put in there (you can catch all my capsule wardrobe posts here – be sure to check them out!). Secondly, I don’t own any real smart work clothes – I have a skirt and possibly 2 shirts in my wardrobe that might be able to pass. Finally, I’m going to Vancouver for a conference in a few weeks and, well, I need smart clothes.. 

My friend Kaeli and I hit the mall yesterday in the search for some work-appropriate clothes for me. I didn’t buy much (thank you capsule wardrobe mentality), but what I did buy I am so pleased with. Here’s a little look at what I picked up. 

img_4309-1

My budget was small – I’d allocated myself $100 to pick up whatever I thought I’d need to make me look kind of smart. I was pleasantly surprised when I got to the checkout to find that I’d only spent $59 – thank you, H&M. I didn’t intentionally buy all my stuff from there, it just kind of happened that way. We’d mooched around other stores for a while, and stuff just wasn’t fitting right, or was far too expensive for what it really was, y’know the drill. 

I actually really thought about what I was buying (something that is definitely the result of my capsule wardrobe) – did I like the fit?, the shape?, the color? Did I have similar things in my wardrobe already that I could pull out and use? I ended up just buying two new skirts, two tops and a pair of thick-knit tights.

I won’t bother showing you the basic black tube skirt and the thick-knit tights – I’m sure you know the deal there. But let’s all just take a minute to appreciate this cat blouse that I picked up for under $20. I also picked up the most stunning emerald-green shirt for about $15. The final item was a knee-length tube skirt. In marble print. Oh, hello

I’m so pleased with what I picked up & I already know what I’m going to take from my current capsule wardrobe to tie everything together. In fact, I’ll probably write a post on that too..! If you’re new and liked this post, firstly hello! how are you?. If you really liked this post, why not check out my other posts (using the tabs at the top of the page) and hit the follow button for more? 

One thought on “Creating a work wardrobe – new purchases from H&M.

Leave a Reply

