New additions to my makeup bag.

It’s not very often that I veer away from my ‘normal’ make up. Once I find something that works, I tend to stick with it. That being said, I have picked up a few new things recently – they’re all still being trialled, but I thought I’d let you have a little peak! 

fullsizerender

The most surprising purchase is certainly the foundation. I usually swear by my Clarins foundation, however adult acne is attacking my face with a vengeance and one of the first things that was suggested to me was to see if changing products up would help it out. By the way, when I say ‘adult acne’, I don’t just mean a couple of zits here and there. I mean full blown mountain ranges on my face – all across my forehead, my chin, my cheeks, in my hairline, down my back. It’s good times. 

fullsizerender-1

So there I was in Sephora the other day basically sobbing to one of the store staff about how my face hated me, and how I wanted to cover it, but didn’t want to clog it up any more. She looked at me sympathetically and said “right, come with me, we’re sorting this right now”. After some trying out, we settled on the Nars Pure Radiant Tinted Moisturizer – I’m the palest shade (what a surprise..). Let me rewind here and talk about my skin type for two seconds. Let’s just say severely dehydrated (I don’t know how, I guzzle water, but my skin literally drinks in product) but disgustingly oily to the point where makeup literally slips off of my face. Ahhh. This new foundation should provide me with the coverage I want while my face is bright red and not pleasant to look at, but without clogging up my pores any more than they already are. We also looked at a few primers and decided on the Hourglass Mineral Veil primer and spoke about how to use each product individually and together. 

I was going to start this next sentence off with “now for lips”, but anyone who’s been reading this blog for a while knows that I detest lip color on me. I’m not sure why. But now, the tables are turning. Perhaps this is a side effect of the adult acne – I don’t want people to look at my skin, so why not divert their attention to my lips..? I picked up two Intense Butter Glosses from NYX the other day in Target. I went for the bold autumnal colors and so far I’m loving them. I’ve got the shades “Spice Cake” and “Black Cherry Tart”. They’re super creamy, super pigmented and easy to apply too! Also, they smell so good

Have you picked up any new makeup bits recently? Let me know below! If you’re new and liked this post, firstly hello! how are you?. If you really liked this post, why not check out my other posts (using the tabs at the top of the page) and hit the follow button for more? 

One thought on “New additions to my makeup bag.

Leave a Reply

