Three things nobody tells you about capsule wardrobes

In case you were unaware, I’m quite the advocate of the capsule wardrobe. I’ve tried to explain why multiple times to my friends, here on my blog (here, here and here amongst others) and via Skype to various family members. But I freaking love it. As my final rotation for the year rolls around (hit me up, I am ready!), I thought I’d  ease myself back into writing with a little post on what nobody actually tells you about having a capsule wardrobe. 

  1. There’s barely any laundry. The important stuff…But seriously, prepare for your laundry pile to get significantly smaller. I honestly do my laundry once every 3-4 weeks, and my washing basket is usually taken up with bedsheets, towels and underwear. I save money (basically I’m not spending $15 every other week on washing clothes) and I save time because I don’t have to go and sit in a laundromat for a couple of hours every two weeks.
  2. You get picky when you go clothes shopping. Before I started this wardrobe, I’d pretty much buy everything that I tried on in the store. If my jeans didn’t fit quite perfectly, oh well, I’d still buy them anyway. Now I’m so much more picky. If jeans or a sweater doesn’t fit in quite the way I’d like it to, I’m not going to buy it and put it in my 40-piece wardrobe. Nuh-uh, not a chance. Instead I’ll hunt and hunt for that perfect pair, or for the perfect shade of green for a sweater. I won’t settle for less than I want; useful in the saving money department, less great when you’re shopping with friends and they start to get angry with you..
  3. You’re going to get bored and sob with happiness when the next rotation comes around. I mean, let’s be realistic here – you’re probably going to end up hating that super cute top after 3 months because it’s one of the seven tops you’ve been wearing for a quarter of the year. Don’t get me wrong, I love the first 2 months of it but the last month can be a drag! Capsule wardrobes aren’t all fun and games. In fact, I get super excited when I get a new wardrobe rotation because I can spend time seeing what I have, what I want to purchase and what I can get rid of. I can finally mix it up. At the moment, I’m really trying not to buy any new clothes. The only new item in my next rotation is a plaid shirt from the Goodwill store that I picked up last night.

Do you have a capsule wardrobe? What are the pros and cons for you? Let me know below! If you’re new and liked this post, firstly hello! how are you?. If you really liked this post, why not check out my other posts (using the tabs at the top of the page) and hit the follow button for more?  

Leave a Reply

