Things I use to survive winter – Blogmas Day 8

Ok, let’s get one thing very straight here – I love Christmas, but I hate the cold. Yet I picked to live in Massachusetts – stupid, I know. Here, cold means cold. Last winter it got to a rather disgusting -23 celcius/-10 fahrenheit and I honestly didn’t know what to do. However, this year I’m a little more prepared (we’ve already had the first snow of the season) and I thought I’d talk through my essentials for winter.

apartment

  • Some kind of chapstick/lip-salve. Burts Bees, EOS, Vaseline, you take your pick but let me tell you, you’re going to need it. Your lips crack without the stuff. 
  • A good face moisturizer. This doesn’t have to be expensive. In fact, in the winter I refuse to use my expensive Clarins moisturizer just because I have to put so much on my face. I’ve been using the Simple one for the past few weeks and my skin is drinking it in. 
  • Body lotion. I took advantage of a Bath and Body Work coupon I had a few weeks ago and did some stocking up, but I’m also a huge fan of (again) cheaper brands because I get through so much of this stuff in the winter. At the moment, I’m alternating the Fresh Sparkling Snow Body Cream with the St. Ives Refresh and Revive Pear Nectar and Soy Body Lotion. Every morning, every evening and before I get into bed I slather the stuff on me… 
  • A good scarf. Obvious, but also missed by so many people! I alternate between two; one is forrest green and the other is a baby pink plaid pattern. They look epic with everything. 
  • A good coat. Again, I feel like this is obvious but so many people don’t bother! Just stay warm for goodness sake!!!
  • Snow boots. As I said, we’re already had our first snow here, so my boots have been out for the past week. But get a good pair, please. I spent money on mine, so they’ve held up for a second year but I know people who replace theirs every single year. $180 may feel like a lot, but not when they last you forever! 
  • A couple of candles. I spoke about my candle list in this post the other day, but candle’s help my room to feel warmer. Maybe the flame literally does heat up my room, who knows? I’m currently burning Fresh Sparkling Snow. 
  • Water. Ok, you can definitely get dehydrated in the winter. It’s happened to some of my friends to the point where they’ve almost had to be hospitalized. Drink enough water, please (I actually have reminders on my phone to help me.)! 

What are your winter essentials? Let me know below! If you’re new and liked this post, firstly hello! how are you?. If you really liked this post, why not check out my other posts (using the tabs at the top of the page) and hit the follow button for more?  

Leave a Reply

