A few new makeup discoveries

It’s fairly rare that I’ll do a significant switch-up with my make up; once I find something I like, I tend to stick to it for a fair old amount of time. When these switch-ups happen, however, it’s usually with a decent chunk of my make up bag – it’s either all being changed, or not at all. Over the past few months, I’ve found myself chopping and changing my make up essentials, due to changes with my skin. A lot of what was previously working now isn’t. I’ve pulled together some of, what I think, are my best recent makeup discoveries, which include..well..a little bit of everything to be honest. 

Too Faced PB & J Palette available here: I got this bad boy for Christmas and basically haven’t been able to put it down yet. Full of warm reddish-browns and purples, this is honestly one of the coolest eyeshadow palettes I’ve ever owned and suits my green-gold eyes perfectly. I love the shades Extra Creamy for the inner corner of my eye and Nuts About You as a crease/all over the eye/whatever I fancy color. Spread the love is also a great base shade for me, and Jelly Time work so well as a liner shade too. 

Kate x Rimmel Sculpting and Highlighting Kit available here: I picked this up on a bit of whim, to be honest. But I’ve been pleasantly surprised. I often struggle to find a good contour shade, just because I’m so pale and I was worried that this one would be a bit too orange for me (like many others). I tentatively applied it & was so pleased to see that I didn’t look like an orange badger, to be honest. The highlight shade is great (I’d personally like it to be a little stronger, but for no-makeup days, it’s totally fine) and the blush shade (I have the kit in Coral Glow) helps me to look alive during this horrendous winter. Good times all round, I think. 

NYX Lingerie Liquid Lipstick, available here: I think I’ve mentioned this once before, but for someone who hates the idea of color on her lips (give me eye makeup over lip makeup any day), this product has become one of my favorites over recent weeks. I have the shade Ruffle Trim which is nude-y with a hint of coppery orange in it (I’m not selling this very well, sorry..). It’s not too drying on the lips and stays put for a fairly decent amount of time too. I love to pair this with a simple flick of black eyeliner. 

Despite there being a few new bits and bobs in my make up bag, that doesn’t mean to say that I hate all my old make up. In fact, quite the opposite. I still use my trusty Clarins Instant Light Natural Lip Perfector on a near daily basis. I still love my Bourjois bronzer, and all the rest of it, but some products just weren’t working. My old foundation was so heavy on my skin that it made my acne considerably worse. I was relying on my eyebrow palette for contour shades, y’know? 

Have you made any makeup discoveries recently? Let me know below! If you’re new and liked this post, firstly hello! how are you?. If you really liked this post, why not check out my other posts (using the tabs at the top of the page) and hit the follow button for more?

5 thoughts on “A few new makeup discoveries

Leave a Reply

