Things I’m putting on my face at the moment

As promised in this post a couple weeks ago, I’ve put together an updated “what I like to put on my face.” I feel like quite a lot has changed – especially my base products; my acne medications have really played havoc with my skin (dry, dry, dry) so I’ve had to make some pretty big changes. I actually tend to keep my makeup fairly minimal – I just looked in my day-to-day makeup bag and was honestly shocked by how little fell out of there! But I’m just not one for thousands of layers on my face; I try to keep it light so I don’t clog up my skin any more than it is. 

Base 

fullsizerender-4

Let’s start this mega-post at the very beginning; my base. I’m so pleased that I’ve found products that work for my skin here. Starting with foundations, I flit between the Nars Pure Radiant Tinted Moisturizer (1 – Finland) and the Bourjois 123 Perfect CC Cream (31 – Ivory) depending on how much coverage I really want. The Nars tinted moisturizer actually has a surprising amount of coverage, but doesn’t look cake. The Bourjois CC Cream, on the other hand, really does color correct using the different colored pigments to counteract different areas of pigmentation on the face. This has become my go to for more heavy coverage days. Moving to concealers I, again, flit between two (although both are technically designed for different uses). The first is Benefit’s Boi-ing Concealer (01 – Light), the second is the Bourjois 123 Perfect CC Eye Cream (Ivory). I use the Benefit product to cover any horrific (but not dry) blemishes – I have found that putting this over drier areas of skin can be rather traumatic. The Bourjois CC concealer gets used anywhere I want to bring light to the face; primarily under my eyes, but also on my forehead and down the bridge of my nose. In terms of powders, I’ve made a return to an old favorite; the Collection Sheer Loose Ultra Fine Powder (1 – Barely There). I find that loose powders actually give me control over how much is going on my face; super useful for my skin type. To round of this little section, come the cheek products (really only one); the Rimmel Kate x Rimmel Sculpting and Highlighting Kit (002 – Coral Glow), which you can read my raving review about right here

Eyes 

fullsizerender-1

My eyes are becoming more and more simple, to be honest. Starting with brows, I am still all about the Collection Eyebrow Kit (Blonde). I love to use powders in my brows and (because I’m flitting between hair colors at the moment) love that I can almost custom make a color using these powders. Holy grail brow product for me, right there. In terms of actual eye shadows, I find myself reaching for the Too Faced Peanut Butter and Jelly Palette on the constant. I love it (find that review here). I’d say the only shade I’m a little petrified of is Jelly, but I’ll get there, I’m sure! I use one other palette family regularly, and it’s solely for the black to be honest; the Bourjois Smoky Stories Quad Eyeshadow Palette (01 Grey & Night). I actually got this as a free gift when I stocked up on the CC Cream at home over winter break and I’ve been pleasantly surprised. The pigmentation of the black, however, is downright outstanding. I love to layer that over the Bourjois Kohl and Contour Pencil (71 Ultra Black) for a simple, but smoky look. I’m also moving between two mascaras at the moment; both gifts. The first is Avon’s Supershock Volume Mascara (Black), the second is Bourjois’ Volume Glamour Ultra Black Mascara (61 – Ultra Black). I tend to use the Avon one if there’s product on my eyes. The Bourjois one is great for when I just cannot be bothered to do anything with liners or shadows! 

Lips

fullsizerender-3

Lips are still an area which are lacking product for me; I tend to veer towards the eyes and away from the lips, for some reason. However, I do have three products which I found myself putting into my makeup bag.. The first is the NYX Lip Lingerie Liquid Lipstick (04 – Ruffle Trim); read about that here. Next is the Burt’s Bees Lipstick (500 – Nile Nude). This is my nude. It just looks so natural on my lips. The final product is hardly surprising; the Clarins Instant Light Natural Lip Perfector (01 – Rose Shimmer). I  rave about this all the time – I literally cannot get enough of it. I wear it as part of casual makeup, as part of smart makeup, just all the time! 

What are your go-to makeup products at the moment? Let me know! If you’re a brand new visitor to my blog, welcome, please roam around my site & if you like it click on the lil “follow” button that appears. If you’ve been here for the long haul, congratulations & thanks for sticking by me. You all rock. Love and peace and good things to you all. 

Leave a Reply

