The lifestyle book edit.

I feel like the older I get, the more into lifestyle books I become. I live for those books that you can put on your coffee table and my collection is actually growing pretty nicely. I recently picked up three new lifestyle based books and today, I thought I’d talk you through them and a couple of my other favorites.  

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up (Marie Kondo): 15 year old me is literally quaking in her little boots right now: “a book about tidying up?” But I am embracing the art of minimalism; I’m trying to be less materialistic, to lead a more simple life. This book is full of tips on embracing the lifestyle; how simplify and organize your belongings, literally how tidying can change your life. Sounds ridiculous, but it’s definitely a thing. 

Processed with VSCO with t1 presetThe New Garconne; How to be a Modern Gentlewoman (Navaz Batliwalla): This one’s kinda cool. A look into the history of the gentlewoman (a word that’s been around since a least the 13th-century), interviews with women who embrace the style and thoughts of the gentlewoman and where to buy the quintessential clothes of a gentlewoman; this book has it all.

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

The Little Book of Hygge (Meik Wiking): Hygge (pronounced ‘hooga’) is sort of the Danish art of being happy. I mean, apparently Danes are the happiest people in the world, and to be honest I don’t blame them. This book gives all the tips and tricks to introduce hygge into our own lives; to help us feel as happy as the Danes. The book gives month by month suggestions, ways to introduce hygge on the cheap and more. 

How To Be Parisian Wherever You Are (Anne Berest, Audrey Diwan, Caroline de Maigret & Sophie Mas): Ok, but this is my bible. I’ve had this book for years & I can never work out how I end up constantly leaving it at my parents’ house. Basically, if you love all things French, this is for you. From Parisian style and makeup tips, to embracing the Parisian way of thinking, this is the book that I return to over and over again. It’s also a little tongue in cheek, which I adore.

Do you have any lifestyle book recommendations for me? Let me know below! If you’re a brand new visitor to my blog, welcome, please roam around my site & if you like it click on the lil “follow” button that appears. If you’ve been here for the long haul, congratulations & thanks for sticking by me. You all rock. Love and peace and good things to you all. 

One thought on “The lifestyle book edit.

Leave a Reply

