My Travel Essentials

Over the last eighteen months or so, I’ve travelled a lot. In fact, as I type this, I’m waiting to board my 5th flight of the year so far. It’s March 6th. I travel primarily on hand luggage – especially for short trips – and have really managed to get my travel essentials down to a “T” for when I go on a 2-6 day trip. Here are my travel essentials..including those pesky under 100ml liquids! 

A thick sweater; I’m especially digging my Monterey sweater that I picked up on my travels last summer – I actually get quite cold on planes, so I tend to bundle myself up in varying sweaters and layers. Also, if I get hot, it can double as a pillow of some form! 
A scarf (especially during the winter); Scarves are my favorite kind of pillow, to be honest. I actually really struggle to sleep on planes, so sometimes I just drape a scarf over my head to block out the light. I dread to think how ridiculous I must look, but it works for a good hour to be honest.. 
Samples of makeup; Samples of makeup are my favorite things to take away with me – especially when I’m traveling on hand luggage and have liquid/aerosol restrictions. At the moment, I’ve got a sample of a Clarins face wash, a cream blush from Bite Beauty (loving it; probably going to buy the full size to be honest..), body cream from Jack Wills and perfume from Juliette Has A Gun. I actually make an effort to save all the free samples that I get so I can use them when I travel. I also hoard travel sized shower gels and face moisturizers so I’m not totally caught out. 
A book; As I type this, my flight has been delayed by 3 hours. So guess what I’ll be doing once this post is finished..that’s right, reading my book. At the moment, I’m reading The Little Book of Hygge (mentioned in this post) and am loving it!
Phone charger; Because you never know when you’re going to get delayed. As I’m typing this bit of the post, I’m delayed in Denver for the next 4 and a half hours, so I’m having to charge my phone to make sure I can get to my hotel in California. I know hotels often provide phone chargers, but it’s definitely always useful to have your own with you. 
Water; I get painfully dehydrated on flights, so a bottle of water (usually I’ll take an empty bottle through security) is absolutely essential for me. Like if I don’t drink it, I can literally start to feel my face crack..
A good lip balm; Mainly for similar reasons to water; if I don’t have a thick lip balm going on, my lips crack like you wouldn’t even believe. I’m currently using and loving Bite Beauty’s Agave Lip Mask in Natural/Clear
 
Toothbrush and toothpaste; Clearly these are pretty basic items, but I’ve traveled with so many people who’ve forgotten one of these two things. Plus, I actually quite enjoy getting up midway through the flight to brush my teeth, especially if my flight feeds me! 
What are your travel essentials? Let me know below! Thanks for popping in to read this little post. If you’re new, why not click the follow button? If you’ve been around for a while, thanks for putting up with me! Love and happy things to you all. 
Leave a Reply

