The Wedding Weekend

A couple Fridays ago, I had the absolute pleasure of watching two of my very dearest friends tie the knot. Aside from that weird feeling that comes when the first of your friends gets married and, y’know, makes you realize that you’re not 12 any more, it was honestly the most wonderful day. The speeches were the perfect mix of poignant and hilarious. There was a moment in there where I was sobbing at the father of the bride’s speech, and then three seconds later I was crying for an entirely different reason at the father of the groom’s speech! It was small and intimate, but so beautifully planned out. Here’s a little look into what I wore for the day; face, nails, the clothes…everything. 

18920265_10209414336814665_1316354125935081563_n

Although my face decided to break out massively the night before, I kept it pretty simple. I wanted my skin to be able to breathe, so opted for my trusty Nars Sheer Radiance Tinted Moisturizer and built up the coverage by really buffing the product into the areas that desperately needed it. Concealer wise, I grabbed Becca’s Ultimate Coverage Concealing Creme to hide areas of redness, and Bourjois’ Radiance Reveal Concealer to brighten under my eyes. All of this was set using Collection’s Sheer Loose Powder. On my cheeks, I built up a little bit of color with my Bite Beauty Multistick in Cashew and contored a little using Rimmel’s Sculpting Kit. I added a teeny bit of Too Faced’s Beach Bunny Bronzer for even more dimension (and an attempt at looking healthy..), and finished the face with some glow courtesy of my beloved Becca Champagne Pop.

IMG_6115.jpg

For the eyes I decided to, once again, keep it simple. There was no way that I’d be able to do some fancy smoky eye in the hour I had to get ready (yay for over-running PT appointments..), and a dark smoky eye just wouldn’t look quite right at a summer wedding. Instead, I pulled out my trusty Too Faced PB&J Palette. I (quite literally) spread the shade “Spread the Love” across my lids and then blended “Peanut Butter” into my crease until the cows came home. To finish the look, I mixed a little bit of “Peanut Butter” and “Nuts About U” together and pushed it into my lower lash line, before I added a pretty hefty slick of Bourjois’ Volume Glamour Ultra Black mascara. Brows came courtesy of Collection’s Brow Kit in Blonde, and Becca’s Champagne Pop was used on my brow bone and in the inner corners of my eyes to really make them pop. 

Screen Shot 2017-06-10 at 3.12.04 PM.png

I decided to keep my lips pretty natural, to be honest. I’m not really a big lip product person, and decided on Burt’s Bees’ lipstick in Nile Nude. These have been out for a while in the US, and I literally turn to this color all the time, and I think it really tied the look together. It wears off beautifully too, which meant that I only really had to reapply it two or three times throughout the entire day. Although I toyed with other colors, I went for Essie’s Licorice on my nails. Again, I think this really helped to tie the whole look together and make it quite cohesive. In terms of my hair, I actually French-braided it the day before and then let it loose. I spritzed a little Not Your Mother’s Sea Salt Spray into it and ran my fingers through it a few times to tame, but add volume too. To make sure I didn’t totally overheat, I tied the top layer back with a little clear elastic which made it look a little smarter, to be honest. 

Screen Shot 2017-06-10 at 3.12.56 PM.png

Finally, the clothes. I committed a potential wedding crime and went for a black dress. I know, I’m sorry. However, the little lacy short sleeves really gave it a summery feel. This was also probably aided by the little nude sandals that I decided to team it with. They were surprisingly comfy and easy to bop around in! I finished off the entire look with a little black bag that my friend got me from Kurt Geiger a couple Christmases ago that was small enough to take, but stored my keys, passport, phone, etc. in it quite easily! My dress is no longer available on the Target website – boo! But I have popped a screenshot from the email with my order confirmation below.

 

If you’ve made it through this post, congratulations! – it was definitely a long’un! Have you been to any weddings recently? What did you wear? Let me know below! If you’re new, be sure to have a little look around and click on the subscribe button. If you’ve been here for a while, thank you so much! Sending love and good things to you all.

 

2 thoughts on “The Wedding Weekend

Leave a Reply

